Macros.

Many people are aware that macros exist, but they don’t really know understand the concept or how to use it to their advantage. Flexible dieting is still fairly new to me, but I think I am starting to really get the hang of it.

Macros means macronutrients, the main/most important nutrients your body needs the most of. These are the nutrients your body uses to perform basic daily functions and I’ve read a bit of research and the flexible dieting seems to be one of the most sustainable ways to live. Eating healthy, but also eating the things you want and enjoy. IIFYM (if it fits your macros) has a website where you can plug in all your information and it’ll give you an average TDEE (total daily energy expenditure) in other words how much energy you would use by just functioning. From then you choose whether you want to lose weight, gain weight or maintain weight and it’ll spit out a daily recommended intake of all your macros. Please remember though it is a recommendation, if you’re wanting more specific information I suggest you see a Nutritionist. I use My Fitness Pal to track my intake, I find it the easiest and most efficient way. It is also easily adjustable so you can manually inout what your nutrition goals are and how much of what you need per day.

The 3 main macros are protein, fat and carbohydrates. These are the building blocks for the your entire being. They all work together so closely at a microscopic level to help keep your body working in the best way it can.

Protein is the molecule that goes around repairing your muscles after you’ve finished working out and tearing your muscle fibers. Protein is also important for production of red blood cells and to regulate hormone levels throughout the body. Another reason protein is so important is their molecule size, because they’re bigger it takes longer for the body to process and digest them. therefore, keeping you fuller for longer.

The purpose of fat is varied. Mostly it is used for the reason people think fat is used for, filling your fat cells up to keep you  nice and warm. However, they do have other functions. The word fat is always bandied around like it’s something to be afraid of, something to stay away from but in fact it’s the opposite. You need to have fats in your diet, just not the saturated, deep fried kind. Those are the enemy. Fat cells actually store energy for the body to consume when needed, so all the time. They also surround and protect your vital organs and act as a form of transport for the protein molecules.

Carbohydrates are a huge energy source. They turn the energy provided into glucose which is then turned into glycogen which is the source that the body can process as energy. Glycogen surrounds and stores closely to the liver and also muscles.

Although with everything, moderation is key. carbs are good for you, although some are better than others. Simple carbohydrates are smaller molecules so they get processed a lot faster and the energy they produce burns out very quickly. As opposed to Complex carbohydrates which are larger in size. The digestion time for Complex carbs is very similar to that of protein, they keep you fuller for longer.

That’s my perspective on macros, in no way am I a professional. I have studied this a little but have not gone into great depth. This method I like to keep in mind, the reasons why I am trying to hit my macro goals everyday and remind myself of what these are helping me achieve.

If you want to know anything else or don’t think I have explained something quite right feel free to flick me a message and ask!

xx

Leave a comment