Friday Inspiration

This is a topic I could write forever about, I am so passionate about this and spreading the message to everyone that I just want to stand on top of the world somehow and shout it out so everyone, everywhere can hear it.

Some people will be able to relate to this, some won’t.

Being overweight sucks, it sucks balls. Not going to sugarcoat it, you can try and fluff it up all you want, but the health risks and the barriers do exist. They are there, no matter how much society wants you to believe everyone is invincible, they aren’t.

BUT! There is such a massive but here, (also a massive butt, cause we squat 😉 ) if you take the necessary steps to be safe in what you do, you can achieve anything.

Coming from an overweight background I understand how hard it is to move around, to go shopping with your friends and not fit anything, to secretly stuff your face full of chocolate and chips and Maccas in your car before you get home from work. At the time you love it, but you feel so embarrassed about the fact that you find it really difficult to stop yourself from overeating that you have to hide it from everybody. That makes it even harder to ask for help because 1, you have to admit to yourself you have a problem and need someone else to help you deal with it and 2, you have to be honest with someone else about the extent of the problem and admit what food you eat and how much you eat. It’s one of the hardest things I have done.

I had tried many times, to be healthy and lose weight. I did it, a few times, but it wasn’t in a healthy way and I put on twice as much twice as fast as I lost it so once I found this way I wanted to make sure everyone knew about it. I want to make people like me, men and woman feel as empowered about health and wellness as I now do.

Becoming a personal trainer was such a massive life direction change, if someone had told me a year ago I would no longer be at Uni I would be studying to work in a gym and help change people’s lives I think I would’ve honestly laughed in your face. I would’ve thought it was the most ridiculous thing in the world. Being where I am now, I can’t see any other options for me, nothing would fulfil me as much as being the person to change someone’s life for the better, and be that positive influence for someone like my trainer is for me.

Coming into the industry I feel as though I have somewhat of an edge compared to others, not trying to blow my own trumpet or anything I just feel as though I can relate to people because of where I started in my journey. Weighing in at 117kg, no self confidence, an anxiety disorder and next to no motivation I know how hard it can be to get yourself up in the morning and head into the gym before the rest of your family and friends are awake. Having to turn down going out for dinner with friends because you know you don’t want to be put in the position where you might overindulge and ruin everything you’d done that week.

Becoming a personal trainer one of my biggest aspirations is to inspire people like me. In particular girls, no I am not being sexist, I just believe that I can understand the issues they face alot more than I can boys. I want to be the person they text at 10pm at night because they really want to go and get McDonalds because they had a shitty day, I want to be given the opportunity to share my experiences and my mistakes so others can learn from them.

I hope this post inspires just one person to look after themselves, maybe someone who has been thinking about it for a while but wasn’t to sure how to begin, or what to do, but wants to feel the change and in turn change the rest of their life. If anyone needs anything, support, motivation, stories, experiences, advice I will do my best to provide you with all of those.

Please, if you are thinking about it reach out to someone. Find someone you trust, or someone you don’t know might be easier. Confess everything, write it all down and burn it. Or just make a small change in your life that you can build on in the months and years to come. It takes one little change to produce results, once you start seeing those results it will fuel your motivation fire and you take it from there.

You can do this. If you take nothing away from this post, please just remember that you are brave, you are beautiful and if you are committed you can do anything you set your mind too.

 

xx

Leave a comment