Nutrition Myths

tumblr_o6e60eg5551v7zxu2o1_540

There are thousands and thousands of suggestions on how to lose weight on the internet. Some are more outrageous than others but the purpose of this blog post is to reveal the ones that have no truth to them.

Disclaimer: These were discussed in one of my classes at Ara Institute of Technology by my Nutrition tutor Dr Nick Kimber. 

I really want this information to be more widely accessible and to inform a wider range of people of the information I wish one day to be common knowledge.

1. A lot of people believe that not consuming carbohydrates after about 5/6pm will aid in losing weight. This is not the case.

2. You don’t have to worry much about the foods you eat if you work out often and your weight is average. This is also false.

3. Skipping breakfast to help with not eating as many calories in a day. I can definitely say I have done this, at the time it seemed logical but it is really unhealthy. When you eat breakfast you start your metabolism for the day, also helps with digestion for the rest of the day.

4. I regret to inform you chocolate is not a source that contributes to your daily dose of antioxidants. *cries with you*

5. Eating protein and carbohydrates together will affect the digestion process and reduce nutrient absorption. This is not correct.

 

xx

 

Leave a comment