Why I Want to be a Personal Trainer?

I seem to get this question a lot recently because if you knew me in primary, intermediate or even high school you would know that I played netball and that was about it for fitness. I wasn’t one for running, I would do anything I could to get out of any physical activity at school. Faked period pain, faked muscle pain, you name it and I probably tried it. Even at the beginning of last year if you asked me if I would ever have a career in the fitness industry I would have told you to stop being stupid. But now, I can’t see myself doing anything else.

I have tried and failed to start on many fitness journeys, and in all honesty when I started this one late last year I thought it would’ve ended up the same. We all start out with the best intentions, we are so keen to get started and start seeing differences straight away and when that doesn’t happen you get discouraged. I get it, but I go myself a trainer and told her everything. All about how I have tried so many diets and fads and all sorts of different training but haven’t been able to stick to anything. I told her my goals, what I wanted to do and what I thought my barriers were and what I needed her to do to help me overcome them. Getting a trainer was the best thing I have ever done for myself and the people around me. I want to be that person for someone else.

Michelle is my knight in shining armour, she has picked me up so many times and encouraged me and been hard on me when I needed it, she has supported me throughout everything and has always been happy to help in any way that she could. She is actually the one that inspired me to follow my very recent dream of becoming a personal trainer. She is everything I have ever wanted to be, slim, toned, beautiful, successful, down to earth, intelligent and just an all round great person. I look at her and what she has built for herself and that everything I want for myself.

I want to be that person for someone else, I seem to have a soft spot for girls around the ages of about 15 – 23. I look around and see so many things that I believe I could help with, it makes me so sad. But I was one of those girls, I had low self esteem, struggled with mental illness, had difficulties with friends and family and ate myself into a very dark hole. I have turned it around, I have become a happier, healthier person and I want to help others to do the same.

That’s the main reason I want to be a personal trainer, I have always wanted to help people and change lives and this is a way I can do it. I want to transform people’s lives, boost their confidence, have more energy, have courage to follow their dreams and to live a better life for them.

I want to motivate, inspire and encourage women to be the best they can be, to work out what they’re good at and to pursue it. I want to help them have the courage to be who they want be and be confident in who they are.

If I can help anyone with anything at all please message me or text me and I will do everything I can to help. If this has ignited a fire in you, or you feel slightly more inspired to be more active then that was the aim. Go out and do you! Go and be the best version of you that is possible, and keep your head up. For the girls reading this, remember, you are a girl boss. You are strong, independent and you can do anything you set your mind to. If you see a barrier you are more than capable of overcoming it and making it your bitch.

Be strong, x

Leave a comment